About our Mission

The Embassy of Liberia in London – Court of St. James is the diplomatic mission of Liberia in the United Kingdom. It is currently located next to the embassies of Mozambique and Croatia on Fitzroy Square.

Our mission is to enhance our national security, advance our interest and reflect our values within the United Kingdom, the Republic of Ireland, the Vatican and the Sovereign Order of Malta. We also facilitate visa applications for non Liberians seeking to visit Liberia and passport applications for Liberians residing in the United Kingdom.

Where to find us

The Ambassador

H.E. Gurly T Gibson-Schwarz

Ambassador Gibson-Schwarz assumed her post in February 2019.

Here’s what she has to say about her newly appointed role:

“It was December 4, 2018 when I received the news that I had been confirmed by the Liberian Senate to serve as Ambassador of Liberia to the United Kingdom. It was a beginning of a new day where my team at our mission will have the opportunity to work closely with the United Kingdom to advance Liberia’s vital interests with dividends. The opportunity to work with Liberians with various background and skills in promoting sustainable economic growth for Liberia.”

Here’s what H.E hopes for the future between Liberia and the UK:

“I believe my experience will help guide me as I lead the Liberian mission in the U.K. to strengthen and enhance U.K-Liberia relations; negotiate mutual beneficial agreements between the Liberian government and the British Government and many U.K corporations. It will assist me in developing strategic partnerships with all levels of decision makers-promoting economic diplomacy and promoting the pro-poor development agenda with the goal of lifting the Liberian people out of poverty through sustainable development. Foreign Service is not new to me. I will continue the work I started while serving as Consul for Trade and Investment at our embassy in Washington, DC. I will work to represent the government and people of Liberia to the best of my ability and champion President George Weah’s policy objectives in the United Kingdom of Great Britain with great passion and commitment.”

Minister Counsellor

Ms Marian F. Sandy

Minister Counsellor Press and Public Affairs

Mr Albert Jaja

Passport Attache

Mrs Winifred Y. Nelson-Gaye

Secretary to H.E. Ambassador Gibson-Schwarz

Ms Flavia Galisa

Admin and Book-keeper

Mrs Jemoh Kun

Protocol Officer & General Service Officer/Logistics

Mr Sekou Kaba

Embassy Legal Intern

Ms Chrisphina Wreh


Mr Lahziel Adelene